Awards . Honors


Since 1985, the Foundation has supported creative writing through the Whiting Awards, given annually to ten emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. The awards, of $50,000 each, are based on early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come.

The prize of $3,000, with an introduction by the judge and distribution of the winning book by Copper Canyon Press through Consortium, will be awarded in 2016 with publication of the book in the same year.

Cave Canem Fellow

Founded by Toi Derricotte and Cornelius Eady in 1996 to remedy the under-representation and isolation of African American poets in the literary landscape, Cave Canem Foundation is a home for the many voices of African American poetry and is committed to cultivating the artistic and professional growth of African American poets.

Amy Clampitt Residency

The Amy Clampitt Fund seeks to “benefit poetry and the literary arts by converting Amy Clampitt’s prior residence . . . into a facility which would provide for a place to foster the study and promotion of poetry and/or a poet in residence” through six to twelve month residencies at the Amy Clampitt House near Lenox, Massachusetts. It is expected that the resident fellow will commit to residing in the house full-time and focusing exclusively on his/her creative work except for occasional absences. The resident fellow will be asked to give a reading locally of his/her work. The Amy Clampitt House is a charming, fully furnished, 3-bedroom, 2-story house in the Cape style.

Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Awards

Prairie Schooner is published with support from the University of Nebraska Press, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln English Department and its creative writing program, and the Glenna Luschei Endowed Editorship and Fund for Excellence at Prairie Schooner at the University of Nebraska Foundation.

2019 Palm Beach Poetry Festival Langston Hughes Fellowship



The fellowship is open by application to poets who identify as African American. We are grateful to the administrators of the Langston Hughes Estate who assisted us by granting permission to name this fellowship. The fellow will be an outstanding poet who will benefit from and contribute to participation in the workshop.


2019 Diana and Simon Raab Writers-In- Residence


Based at the Interdisciplinary Humanities Center (IHC), one of the most active and innovative humanities centers in the country. The IHC organizes lectures, seminars and conferences and sponsors an annual series on an issue of social consequence. It also supports interdisciplinary research groups, hosts artist residencies and offers a variety of humanities courses, including a writing workshop for student veterans and military dependents.